Book Review: Unspoken, The Lynburn Legacy#1

I only have good things to say about this book. The writing is beautiful with total creepy mysterious vibes and witty characters. It had me laughing aloud at times. The concept of Jared and Kami hearing each other’s voice is explained brilliantly. I thought it would be all rainbows and unicorns but there were storms and rain. Kami and Jared have been talking to each other since they were born, literally. So, it would be natural that they would be each other’s best friend or support system. I know it would have been a total cliché if they had automatically started going out after meeting each other in real life. Which, it did not happen, but God, I wished it had. They are soooo meant to be together, but both of them are so afraid of messing it all up because their “connection” is the most valuable thing to both of them. She tries her best to run away from the possibility of their being together. Jared too is confused and afraid.

Advertisements

Book Review: The Lovely Reckless

I have no idea why I enjoyed reading this book. Half the time I was wondering what the hell am I doing, I could just stop- but I just could not stop reading it. Frankie is a very interesting character. She has so much going on. Once I started reading, I was just sucked into it. Her boyfriend, Noah was brutally murdered in front of her and it has been a couple of months but because of stress and PTSD, she cannot remember the attacker’s face. Her way of dealing with grief, anger and stress was making utterly reckless decisions and not letting anyone help her deal with it. After witnessing his death she realizes that perfect grades, being the perfect daughter and having the “good girl” reputation in school was not everything and she just stopped caring about the consequences. Her mother does not seem to have any idea on how to deal with her. All of this crazy behavior leads her having to move in with her father, who is an undercover cop, transferring to a public school, Monroe.

Book Review: Tell the Wind and Fire

This book is a retelling ‘The Tale of Two Cities’ by Charles Dickens. I probably would have appreciated this book more if I had read that one. The blurb sounded so promising so I was reasonably excited getting into this book. However, I think it is safe to say that it was a huge disappointment. I tried so hard to like this book. The idea behind this was great but there were just too much chaos and confusion. SO MUCH CHAOS AND CONFUSION. Not like actual chaos in the story, even though there is plenty of that, I mean like no smooth transition from one part of the story to another.

Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !! Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes… Worldbuilding & writing: Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys. The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in. This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.” The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school.

Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Truth be told, I was mostly drawn to the novel by its cover. Look at that defiant and fierce expression in the girl’s face. The world building could have been better. Sometimes it felt like too much information at once, but it was kind of expected from this small a book. It was barely 300 pages long. I admit it was very fast paced. The characters do travel to many places and I would have loved to read more about all that Chinese folklore based world building. Overall, I thought this book was refreshing and awesome. It only rarely happens that a standalone fantasy books leaves you as satisfied as a long ass series. This book was that. It is just written beautifully.

Book Review: Every Breath

I have read all of Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes books, watched BBC’s Sherlock and am currently watching Elementary for no other reason than that it is about Sherlock. Also, a movie with Tony Stark no wait, … Robert Downey Jr. as Sherlock. So, it’s pretty safe to say I love Sherlock in general. And by love I mean borderline obsessed with. So, I come across this book and I was like where have you been my entire life??? As soon as I read the part about the description about Mycroft’s hair I was so freaking sure I would love this book. This was exactly the shit I was craving for. All the descriptions and feels and everything. I am not even sure I can give an accurate review of this book. I was just so happy and excited about reading this. Fangirling all over the place.

Book Review: The Coldest Girl In Coldtown

First off, what a weird book. It has this strange vibe to it, almost like a pre apocalyptic vibe, even though there is no imminent danger to the world, by which I mean the fictional world of this book. So the vampires have come out. However, in this world, being a vampire is kind of like a disease- to some. Once a vampire’s venom gets inside a human’s body, they have 48 hours before the infection sets in. They start getting hungry for blood and prett-ay soon blood thirst gets started in full throttle, which lasts for 80 days. Once an infected person drinks human blood, they die and come alive as the undead, or vampire. Kind of like the vampires from Vampire diaries and they also burn in sunlight. However, there is no on/off switch for humanity. Once you turn into a vampire, it is permanently turned off. Also no magic or witches elements. It is hard to imagine but very realistic. Like I agree, this is probably exactly what would happen if the vampirism spiraled out of control.

Book Review: Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

This book is just soo good. Simon is such a fun character and he is so relatable. It was just so nice reading from his point of view. There are lots of other characters that I had to keep track of, and except for Martin, no one else is a hot effing mess. I really liked the fact that both families were absolutely cool with their son coming out.  I just felt so good and I loved how supporting they are of him. Of course, there are tons of moments of his internal dilemma of Simon before telling his family and friends.