Trilogy Review: Red Rising

The Red Rising trilogy has everything one would want in a science fiction book and more. The epic world-building, the eccentric character arcs, and the emotional dilemmas of a flawed protagonist make it an intense read. It is set in a futuristic world where the entire solar system has been colonized and run by a color-coded society, achieved by genetic and surgical manipulation of humans. There are fourteen levels of the color-coded caste hierarchy; Golds are the most elite, ruling over the rest of the humanity and Reds are at the lowest level, forced to do menial work. The protagonist, Darrow, is a Red whose mission is to infiltrate the ranks of the Golds to destroy them from within. Continue reading Trilogy Review: Red Rising

Advertisements

A Court of Thrones and Roses

I usually prefer waiting until all the books in the series are out so that I can binge read the entire series. However, with this book, the HYPE was strong with this one. So there I was three books out in the series and ready to be left in a cliffhanger at the end.

If there is one thing I learned from this book its that Saraj J. Mass can write dramatic scenes with very dramatic sentences.

It’s like you can almost feel her dropping the mike after she ends a dramatic scene. Continue reading A Court of Thrones and Roses

Book Review: A Boy Worth Knowing

Yes, this book gave me everything that the blurb promised and then some.

It had me laughing out loud and feeling emotional AF at times.

The Characters are awesome!
Nate Shaw can see ghosts. Due to which he has a reputation of being the crazy kid, and there are certain bullies that give a hard time in high school. However, he is not at all what one would expect him to be. He is the sweetest person and doesn’t let what other people say about him get to him much. Even though he doesn’t have any friends, he has his aunt Susan and his Grandmom- technically a ghost, as she is dead. Continue reading Book Review: A Boy Worth Knowing

unmade: Book Review

Book Review: Unmade, The Lynburn Legacy#3

Yes, this is just as amazing as the first two books and I ate it all up.

I am so glad I got to read this series one after another, not having to wait for the next book in the series is a blessing. 😀 I don’t think I could have handled all the cliffhangers in both the preceding books.

I feel like I’ve already talked so much about the characters in this series on Untold and Unspoken. And I was so afraid that some of them were not going to make it out alive or unscathed out of this series.

The entire series is just waiting for a final epic battle between Rob and Kami’s forces, which did happen here, but the actual battle was not of a huge magnitude. 

However, each character had a fight of their own and this book had a lot of those. This book just made me feel for them. OH! feelings… Continue reading Book Review: Unmade, The Lynburn Legacy#3

unspoken- book review

Book Review: Unspoken, The Lynburn Legacy#1

I only have good things to say about this book. The writing is beautiful with total creepy mysterious vibes and witty characters. It had me laughing aloud at times. The concept of Jared and Kami hearing each other’s voice is explained brilliantly. I thought it would be all rainbows and unicorns but there were storms and rain.
Kami and Jared have been talking to each other since they were born, literally. So, it would be natural that they would be each other’s best friend or support system. I know it would have been a total cliché if they had automatically started going out after meeting each other in real life.
Which, it did not happen, but God, I wished it had. They are soooo meant to be together, but both of them are so afraid of messing it all up because their “connection” is the most valuable thing to both of them. She tries her best to run away from the possibility of their being together. Jared too is confused and afraid. Continue reading Book Review: Unspoken, The Lynburn Legacy#1

TheLovelyReckless- BookReview

Book Review: The Lovely Reckless

I have no idea why I enjoyed reading this book. Half the time I was wondering what the hell am I doing, I could just stop- but I just could not stop reading it. Frankie is a very interesting character. She has so much going on. Once I started reading, I was just sucked into it. Her boyfriend, Noah was brutally murdered in front of her and it has been a couple of months but because of stress and PTSD, she cannot remember the attacker’s face.
Her way of dealing with grief, anger and stress was making utterly reckless decisions and not letting anyone help her deal with it. After witnessing his death she realizes that perfect grades, being the perfect daughter and having the “good girl” reputation in school was not everything and she just stopped caring about the consequences. Her mother does not seem to have any idea on how to deal with her.
All of this crazy behavior leads her having to move in with her father, who is an undercover cop, transferring to a public school, Monroe. Continue reading Book Review: The Lovely Reckless

tell the wind and fire

Book Review: Tell the Wind and Fire

This book is a retelling ‘The Tale of Two Cities’ by Charles Dickens. I probably would have appreciated this book more if I had read that one. The blurb sounded so promising so I was reasonably excited getting into this book. However, I think it is safe to say that it was a huge disappointment.
I tried so hard to like this book. The idea behind this was great but there were just too much chaos and confusion. SO MUCH CHAOS AND CONFUSION. Not like actual chaos in the story, even though there is plenty of that, I mean like no smooth transition from one part of the story to another. Continue reading Book Review: Tell the Wind and Fire

curse of the sphinx: Book review

Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !!
Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes…
Worldbuilding & writing:

Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys.
The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in.

This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.”
The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school. Continue reading Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner