Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !! Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes… Worldbuilding & writing: Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys. The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in. This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.” The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school.

Advertisements

Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Truth be told, I was mostly drawn to the novel by its cover. Look at that defiant and fierce expression in the girl’s face. The world building could have been better. Sometimes it felt like too much information at once, but it was kind of expected from this small a book. It was barely 300 pages long. I admit it was very fast paced. The characters do travel to many places and I would have loved to read more about all that Chinese folklore based world building. Overall, I thought this book was refreshing and awesome. It only rarely happens that a standalone fantasy books leaves you as satisfied as a long ass series. This book was that. It is just written beautifully.

September Quote of the month

More like September quoteS of the month. Katy from the Lux series was such a relateable character. Her love of books was so great to read about which occured in various outbrusts throughout the book. Also, she had a book blog, which I did not have at the time I was reading the book, still it sounded so cool. The entire series was so awesome! 😀 So, I compiled a list of lines/ quotes from her that took #relateable to the next level for me. 😀 “I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

Book Review: Every Breath

I have read all of Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes books, watched BBC’s Sherlock and am currently watching Elementary for no other reason than that it is about Sherlock. Also, a movie with Tony Stark no wait, … Robert Downey Jr. as Sherlock. So, it’s pretty safe to say I love Sherlock in general. And by love I mean borderline obsessed with. So, I come across this book and I was like where have you been my entire life??? As soon as I read the part about the description about Mycroft’s hair I was so freaking sure I would love this book. This was exactly the shit I was craving for. All the descriptions and feels and everything. I am not even sure I can give an accurate review of this book. I was just so happy and excited about reading this. Fangirling all over the place.

Book Review: Property of a Noblewoman

Plot synopsis: The story begins with a safety deposit box on the Metropolitan Bank. The safety box in question belonged to Marguerite Wallace Pearson di San Pignelli. As per routine, the contents of the box need to be checked and auctioned off because there was no will present. Jane Willoughby, an intern at the surrogate’s court and Phillip Lawton, a fine arts expert for Christie auction house both meet during the process. The contents of the safe-deposit box take everyone by surprise. Tons of Faded photographs of Marguerite that shows her life history, with bright eyes and sad smiles. Old letters and breathtaking collection of magnificent jewelry and stones.

Book Review: Summer- Edith Wharton

I find some of the classic books hard to read. I just cannot read some of them; I keep repeating the same sentences and lose track of the story, the main reason why I have not read 'Wuthering Heights' and 'To kill a Mockingbird' YET. Trust me. I tried reading them a COUPLE of times. So you can guess how apprehensive I about starting this book. Since I loved Jane Austen’s works, I picked this one because it was on similar grounds. Lucky for me, the narrator’s voice was so pleasant I was effortlessly invested in the story.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑