Book Review: Untold, The Lynburn Legacy#2

Since the last book ended on quite a cliffhanger, I was extremely motivated to read this book. It was very hard for me to accept that the link between Jared and Kami was broken. Imagine how hard it must have been for the characters themselves to accept that. Usually, I hate it when love triangle dramas and romance takes over the precedence of the book but this book is sorcery. I was somehow, more hooked on it because of all that. I loved it. It has humor, it has sass, it made me want to get inside the book and knock some sense into Jared. I felt like the story was being dragged a bit. Rob and his evil team threatened Kami and gave some kind of a deadline for battle. Kami and her team begin preparing for the said battle with Lillian with occasional fights in between. And, the anticipated “battle” was very underwhelming. Still, for a middle book, the drag was expected. The characters and the writing were what me going most of the time.

Advertisements

Book Review: Unspoken, The Lynburn Legacy#1

I only have good things to say about this book. The writing is beautiful with total creepy mysterious vibes and witty characters. It had me laughing aloud at times. The concept of Jared and Kami hearing each other’s voice is explained brilliantly. I thought it would be all rainbows and unicorns but there were storms and rain. Kami and Jared have been talking to each other since they were born, literally. So, it would be natural that they would be each other’s best friend or support system. I know it would have been a total cliché if they had automatically started going out after meeting each other in real life. Which, it did not happen, but God, I wished it had. They are soooo meant to be together, but both of them are so afraid of messing it all up because their “connection” is the most valuable thing to both of them. She tries her best to run away from the possibility of their being together. Jared too is confused and afraid.

Book Review: The Lovely Reckless

I have no idea why I enjoyed reading this book. Half the time I was wondering what the hell am I doing, I could just stop- but I just could not stop reading it. Frankie is a very interesting character. She has so much going on. Once I started reading, I was just sucked into it. Her boyfriend, Noah was brutally murdered in front of her and it has been a couple of months but because of stress and PTSD, she cannot remember the attacker’s face. Her way of dealing with grief, anger and stress was making utterly reckless decisions and not letting anyone help her deal with it. After witnessing his death she realizes that perfect grades, being the perfect daughter and having the “good girl” reputation in school was not everything and she just stopped caring about the consequences. Her mother does not seem to have any idea on how to deal with her. All of this crazy behavior leads her having to move in with her father, who is an undercover cop, transferring to a public school, Monroe.

Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !! Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes… Worldbuilding & writing: Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys. The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in. This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.” The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school.

Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Truth be told, I was mostly drawn to the novel by its cover. Look at that defiant and fierce expression in the girl’s face. The world building could have been better. Sometimes it felt like too much information at once, but it was kind of expected from this small a book. It was barely 300 pages long. I admit it was very fast paced. The characters do travel to many places and I would have loved to read more about all that Chinese folklore based world building. Overall, I thought this book was refreshing and awesome. It only rarely happens that a standalone fantasy books leaves you as satisfied as a long ass series. This book was that. It is just written beautifully.

September Quote of the month

More like September quoteS of the month. Katy from the Lux series was such a relateable character. Her love of books was so great to read about which occured in various outbrusts throughout the book. Also, she had a book blog, which I did not have at the time I was reading the book, still it sounded so cool. The entire series was so awesome! 😀 So, I compiled a list of lines/ quotes from her that took #relateable to the next level for me. 😀 “I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

Book Review: Every Breath

I have read all of Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes books, watched BBC’s Sherlock and am currently watching Elementary for no other reason than that it is about Sherlock. Also, a movie with Tony Stark no wait, … Robert Downey Jr. as Sherlock. So, it’s pretty safe to say I love Sherlock in general. And by love I mean borderline obsessed with. So, I come across this book and I was like where have you been my entire life??? As soon as I read the part about the description about Mycroft’s hair I was so freaking sure I would love this book. This was exactly the shit I was craving for. All the descriptions and feels and everything. I am not even sure I can give an accurate review of this book. I was just so happy and excited about reading this. Fangirling all over the place.

Book Review: Property of a Noblewoman

Plot synopsis: The story begins with a safety deposit box on the Metropolitan Bank. The safety box in question belonged to Marguerite Wallace Pearson di San Pignelli. As per routine, the contents of the box need to be checked and auctioned off because there was no will present. Jane Willoughby, an intern at the surrogate’s court and Phillip Lawton, a fine arts expert for Christie auction house both meet during the process. The contents of the safe-deposit box take everyone by surprise. Tons of Faded photographs of Marguerite that shows her life history, with bright eyes and sad smiles. Old letters and breathtaking collection of magnificent jewelry and stones.