Book Review: Untold, The Lynburn Legacy#2

Since the last book ended on quite a cliffhanger, I was extremely motivated to read this book. It was very hard for me to accept that the link between Jared and Kami was broken. Imagine how hard it must have been for the characters themselves to accept that. Usually, I hate it when love triangle dramas and romance takes over the precedence of the book but this book is sorcery. I was somehow, more hooked on it because of all that. I loved it. It has humor, it has sass, it made me want to get inside the book and knock some sense into Jared. I felt like the story was being dragged a bit. Rob and his evil team threatened Kami and gave some kind of a deadline for battle. Kami and her team begin preparing for the said battle with Lillian with occasional fights in between. And, the anticipated “battle” was very underwhelming. Still, for a middle book, the drag was expected. The characters and the writing were what me going most of the time.

Advertisements

Book Review: Unspoken, The Lynburn Legacy#1

I only have good things to say about this book. The writing is beautiful with total creepy mysterious vibes and witty characters. It had me laughing aloud at times. The concept of Jared and Kami hearing each other’s voice is explained brilliantly. I thought it would be all rainbows and unicorns but there were storms and rain. Kami and Jared have been talking to each other since they were born, literally. So, it would be natural that they would be each other’s best friend or support system. I know it would have been a total cliché if they had automatically started going out after meeting each other in real life. Which, it did not happen, but God, I wished it had. They are soooo meant to be together, but both of them are so afraid of messing it all up because their “connection” is the most valuable thing to both of them. She tries her best to run away from the possibility of their being together. Jared too is confused and afraid.

Book Review: Scion of Ikshvaku

My friend had recommended the Shiva trilogy to me, but I was a bit hesitant to read it. I thought it would be repetitive. I knew about the original myths and legends from stories that my mother used to tell me. Sure, it was great reading about Greek and Roman mythologies from Rick Riordan’s books and from Raye Wagner but this time, it would be legends and myths I was familiar with. Since both series ‘The Shiva Trilogy’ and ‘Ram Chandra Series’ by Amish Tripathi are historical fiction, the story would actually follow the person, the myth is about and all their adventures not some demigods at the present age. I do love some historical fiction, but everything I have read in that genre has been about western hemisphere. While I was browsing through my college library, I saw the book-‘Scion of Ikshvaku’ and I turned a few pages, there was this list of characters, which sounded very familiar and a map in the back and it had a beautiful cover so… I had to read it.

Book Review: Tell the Wind and Fire

This book is a retelling ‘The Tale of Two Cities’ by Charles Dickens. I probably would have appreciated this book more if I had read that one. The blurb sounded so promising so I was reasonably excited getting into this book. However, I think it is safe to say that it was a huge disappointment. I tried so hard to like this book. The idea behind this was great but there were just too much chaos and confusion. SO MUCH CHAOS AND CONFUSION. Not like actual chaos in the story, even though there is plenty of that, I mean like no smooth transition from one part of the story to another.

Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !! Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes… Worldbuilding & writing: Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys. The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in. This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.” The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school.

Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Truth be told, I was mostly drawn to the novel by its cover. Look at that defiant and fierce expression in the girl’s face. The world building could have been better. Sometimes it felt like too much information at once, but it was kind of expected from this small a book. It was barely 300 pages long. I admit it was very fast paced. The characters do travel to many places and I would have loved to read more about all that Chinese folklore based world building. Overall, I thought this book was refreshing and awesome. It only rarely happens that a standalone fantasy books leaves you as satisfied as a long ass series. This book was that. It is just written beautifully.

September Quote of the month

More like September quoteS of the month. Katy from the Lux series was such a relateable character. Her love of books was so great to read about which occured in various outbrusts throughout the book. Also, she had a book blog, which I did not have at the time I was reading the book, still it sounded so cool. The entire series was so awesome! 😀 So, I compiled a list of lines/ quotes from her that took #relateable to the next level for me. 😀 “I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

Book Review: Our Dark Duet

So, this book picks up six months after the disastrous ending of This Savage Song. Kate has gone to a different city, Prosperity and begun hunting monsters. But Prosperity has like a different breed of monsters and they are also very rare and kept from the public’s knowledge. On the other hand, August has to take Leo’s place as the leader of FTF, and now he has no choice but to do the things that need to be done in times of war. To be the monster and to embrace it.