Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !! Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes… Worldbuilding & writing: Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys. The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in. This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.” The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school.

Advertisements

Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Truth be told, I was mostly drawn to the novel by its cover. Look at that defiant and fierce expression in the girl’s face. The world building could have been better. Sometimes it felt like too much information at once, but it was kind of expected from this small a book. It was barely 300 pages long. I admit it was very fast paced. The characters do travel to many places and I would have loved to read more about all that Chinese folklore based world building. Overall, I thought this book was refreshing and awesome. It only rarely happens that a standalone fantasy books leaves you as satisfied as a long ass series. This book was that. It is just written beautifully.

September Quote of the month

More like September quoteS of the month. Katy from the Lux series was such a relateable character. Her love of books was so great to read about which occured in various outbrusts throughout the book. Also, she had a book blog, which I did not have at the time I was reading the book, still it sounded so cool. The entire series was so awesome! 😀 So, I compiled a list of lines/ quotes from her that took #relateable to the next level for me. 😀 “I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

Book Review: Our Dark Duet

So, this book picks up six months after the disastrous ending of This Savage Song. Kate has gone to a different city, Prosperity and begun hunting monsters. But Prosperity has like a different breed of monsters and they are also very rare and kept from the public’s knowledge. On the other hand, August has to take Leo’s place as the leader of FTF, and now he has no choice but to do the things that need to be done in times of war. To be the monster and to embrace it.

Book Review: This Savage Song

Okay... What a book. First thing, it has been a while since I have read a fantasy book, with a different world and different problems and different monsters. So, in the beginning, I was like what is this? Am I reading the first book? Does this not have a prequel? I was certain it did not have a prequel because I was waiting for the second book to release before I started reading it, still, I had to check a few times just to make sure.So get this, there are monsters, like real monsters some feed on blood and some feed on flesh and some feed on souls. The malachai drink blood, the corsai feed on flesh. The sunai feed on the souls of people who have sinned. (they only feed on the souls of sinners which appear red)

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑