Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !! Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes… Worldbuilding & writing: Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys. The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in. This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.” The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school.

Advertisements

Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Truth be told, I was mostly drawn to the novel by its cover. Look at that defiant and fierce expression in the girl’s face. The world building could have been better. Sometimes it felt like too much information at once, but it was kind of expected from this small a book. It was barely 300 pages long. I admit it was very fast paced. The characters do travel to many places and I would have loved to read more about all that Chinese folklore based world building. Overall, I thought this book was refreshing and awesome. It only rarely happens that a standalone fantasy books leaves you as satisfied as a long ass series. This book was that. It is just written beautifully.

Book Review: Every Breath

I have read all of Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes books, watched BBC’s Sherlock and am currently watching Elementary for no other reason than that it is about Sherlock. Also, a movie with Tony Stark no wait, … Robert Downey Jr. as Sherlock. So, it’s pretty safe to say I love Sherlock in general. And by love I mean borderline obsessed with. So, I come across this book and I was like where have you been my entire life??? As soon as I read the part about the description about Mycroft’s hair I was so freaking sure I would love this book. This was exactly the shit I was craving for. All the descriptions and feels and everything. I am not even sure I can give an accurate review of this book. I was just so happy and excited about reading this. Fangirling all over the place.

Book Review: The Coldest Girl In Coldtown

First off, what a weird book. It has this strange vibe to it, almost like a pre apocalyptic vibe, even though there is no imminent danger to the world, by which I mean the fictional world of this book. So the vampires have come out. However, in this world, being a vampire is kind of like a disease- to some. Once a vampire’s venom gets inside a human’s body, they have 48 hours before the infection sets in. They start getting hungry for blood and prett-ay soon blood thirst gets started in full throttle, which lasts for 80 days. Once an infected person drinks human blood, they die and come alive as the undead, or vampire. Kind of like the vampires from Vampire diaries and they also burn in sunlight. However, there is no on/off switch for humanity. Once you turn into a vampire, it is permanently turned off. Also no magic or witches elements. It is hard to imagine but very realistic. Like I agree, this is probably exactly what would happen if the vampirism spiraled out of control.

Book Review: Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

This book is just soo good. Simon is such a fun character and he is so relatable. It was just so nice reading from his point of view. There are lots of other characters that I had to keep track of, and except for Martin, no one else is a hot effing mess. I really liked the fact that both families were absolutely cool with their son coming out.  I just felt so good and I loved how supporting they are of him. Of course, there are tons of moments of his internal dilemma of Simon before telling his family and friends.

Book Review: The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me

This book was really a unique experience because, this was my first time reading a book co-written by two authors, Laura Tate and Jimmy Rice. I had not even given it much thought but at the end of the book, there was this little interview where the authors talked about the writing experience and all that stuff, which made it all the more interesting. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book. I was hoping for a cute, fluffy contemporary read, I was 80% satisfied, I’d say. Because the characters are in their late twenties there was a lot more aspects of the character’s life that had to be explored. Their careers, their relationships with their parents, all that stuff made it a bit more diverse.

Book Review: Our Dark Duet

So, this book picks up six months after the disastrous ending of This Savage Song. Kate has gone to a different city, Prosperity and begun hunting monsters. But Prosperity has like a different breed of monsters and they are also very rare and kept from the public’s knowledge. On the other hand, August has to take Leo’s place as the leader of FTF, and now he has no choice but to do the things that need to be done in times of war. To be the monster and to embrace it.

Book Review: This Savage Song

Okay... What a book. First thing, it has been a while since I have read a fantasy book, with a different world and different problems and different monsters. So, in the beginning, I was like what is this? Am I reading the first book? Does this not have a prequel? I was certain it did not have a prequel because I was waiting for the second book to release before I started reading it, still, I had to check a few times just to make sure.So get this, there are monsters, like real monsters some feed on blood and some feed on flesh and some feed on souls. The malachai drink blood, the corsai feed on flesh. The sunai feed on the souls of people who have sinned. (they only feed on the souls of sinners which appear red)

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑