Book Review: This Savage Song

this savage song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song, Monsters of Verity Book one

Title: This Savage Song

Author: Victoria Schwab

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal

Read/ Not Read: Read.

 

 

 

Okay… What a book. First thing, it has been a while since I have read a fantasy book, with a different world and different problems and different monsters. So, in the beginning, I was like what is this? Am I reading the first book? Does this not have a prequel? I was certain it did not have a prequel because I was waiting for the second book to release before I started reading it, still, I had to check a few times just to make sure.

This Savage Song is the first book in a duology by Victoria Schwab. She is all the hype right now, so I decided to pick up one of her books. This was a duology and it sounded pretty interesting. So, I figured why not start with this one.

The Monsters:

So get this, there are monsters, like real monsters some feed on blood and some feed on flesh and some feed on souls. The malachai drink blood, the corsai feed on flesh. The sunai feed on the souls of people who have sinned. (they only feed on the souls of sinners which appear red)

Only the sunai can have human forms and are extremely rare and mysterious. Others look like monsters, you know stinking of death, being made up of shadows.

“Monsters, monsters, big and small,

“They’re gonna come and eat you all.

Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,

Shadow and bone will eat you raw.

Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,

Smile and bite and drink you dry.

Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,

Sing you a song and steal your soul.

Monsters, monsters, big and small,

They’re gonna come and eat you all!”

― Victoria Schwab, This Savage Song

The World:

So this city, Verity is divided into two halves who are/ were at war. And six years ago a truce was made been the two sides. Callum Harker and Henry Flynn. Apparently, the city has always been the Flynn’s but Harker wanted it and there was a war and then a truce.

I would have liked to read more about the world of this book and understand how everything worked.

The north is the territory of Harker where people pay to have the illusion of safety. Apparently, he controls the Malachi monsters and they do not harm the people who are under his protection.

The north is Flynn’s’ who has the FTF, basically the police/ task force, who kill the monsters and patrol their area. The only three sunai are like his adoptive family, Leo, Ilsa and August.

The Characters:

Some were very interesting, some not so much. While I really liked August, I did not really like Kate. So far, they have this platonic relationship, which I do not think will progress to anything and I am totally fine with it.

But Kate, she has this wall around her, which did not really come off in the book, that maybe partly because she was constantly running, being chased by Malachi and getting hurt throughout the book. She has her own personal monsters, one of which she gets rid of in this book, so I am really looking forward to the next one.

And then, there are the Flynns, (humans) wanting peace and trying to hold the truce whom I did not get to know a lot, but from what I gathered are like Dr. Carlisle Cullen and Esme. Adopting the sunai and everything. Hehe 😀

Each of the sunai is unique in their own way.

Was I satisfied?

Well, I have mixed feelings about this book. While I definitely enjoyed this book and went through it like whoosh…done and now I am like what next? I do not think I am satisfied. I want to read more. I just, I want to read more about everything else.

The book only focused on the running of Kate and August since Malachi monsters were chasing them and they had to like live.

I am certainly looking forward to reading the second book.

I just could not help drawing comparisons to Twilight. Because there are, blood drinking creatures, Malachai but they look terrifying and hideous but the sunai look human. There is a territory war. And some blood drinkers are after Kate, and August is a monster who feeds on tainted souls. And he is like very hungry and… guess what?

At some point she kills someone and her soul is now tainted and she just became August’s personal brand of heroine. What up Twilight reference!  Hehe.

However, this book is just a shade darker where people die and sometimes men become monsters. Our Dark Duet, here I come!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: This Savage Song

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

