Curse of The Sphinx by Raye Wagner

The blurb for this book on Goodreads was the perfect trap for me. REALLY? Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Rick Riordan? Count me the hell in !! Greek gods, monsters, demigods, action, and romance?? Hell yes… Worldbuilding & writing: Probably because I was accustomed to Rick Riordan’s books, I slipped right into this world quite easily. It is set in our world but with the mix of Greek mythology. But in this one, demigods might be the bad guys. The beginning was brilliant. It starts out from the point of view of Athan, son of Hermes with his dad, in the underworld. The way it started I was absolutely hooked in. This is how the first line went- “The dead they escorted always cried.” The rest of the books focuses on the mundane world, with Hope going to a high school.

Advertisements

DIY Corner Bookmark

DIY Corner Bookmark Things you will need: Paper (A4 preferably, I am using a black A4 paper) Glue stick Scissors Ruler Step one: The first step is to cut the A4 paper. It width should be 11cm; the length can be however long you want it. I only measured the width and left the length... Continue Reading →

DIY Paper Clip BookMark

DIY: Paper Clip Bookmark Being a reader, I feel like its my job to hoard bookmarks. I have tons of them, most of them I made myself. Even still, when I desperately need one, I can not find a single one and end up using whatever object I find near me. However, that does not stop me from making more bookmarks! I have prepared an easy tutorial to create a simple paper clip bookmark. Things you will need: Paper clip Cardboard Acrylic paint Scissors Masking tape/ other type of tape/ strong glue

Book Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Truth be told, I was mostly drawn to the novel by its cover. Look at that defiant and fierce expression in the girl’s face. The world building could have been better. Sometimes it felt like too much information at once, but it was kind of expected from this small a book. It was barely 300 pages long. I admit it was very fast paced. The characters do travel to many places and I would have loved to read more about all that Chinese folklore based world building. Overall, I thought this book was refreshing and awesome. It only rarely happens that a standalone fantasy books leaves you as satisfied as a long ass series. This book was that. It is just written beautifully.

September Quote of the month

More like September quoteS of the month. Katy from the Lux series was such a relateable character. Her love of books was so great to read about which occured in various outbrusts throughout the book. Also, she had a book blog, which I did not have at the time I was reading the book, still it sounded so cool. The entire series was so awesome! 😀 So, I compiled a list of lines/ quotes from her that took #relateable to the next level for me. 😀 “I was always able to lose myself in reading. Books were a necessary escape I always gladly jumped into headfirst.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Obsidian

Why Do I Read?

That’s why I read books. P.S. I might be slightly addicted to reading. It’s not my fault that they make me happy; also sad, anxious, furious and emotionally unstable at times. Besides, I can't help it.

Book Review: Every Breath

I have read all of Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes books, watched BBC’s Sherlock and am currently watching Elementary for no other reason than that it is about Sherlock. Also, a movie with Tony Stark no wait, … Robert Downey Jr. as Sherlock. So, it’s pretty safe to say I love Sherlock in general. And by love I mean borderline obsessed with. So, I come across this book and I was like where have you been my entire life??? As soon as I read the part about the description about Mycroft’s hair I was so freaking sure I would love this book. This was exactly the shit I was craving for. All the descriptions and feels and everything. I am not even sure I can give an accurate review of this book. I was just so happy and excited about reading this. Fangirling all over the place.

Book Review: The Coldest Girl In Coldtown

First off, what a weird book. It has this strange vibe to it, almost like a pre apocalyptic vibe, even though there is no imminent danger to the world, by which I mean the fictional world of this book. So the vampires have come out. However, in this world, being a vampire is kind of like a disease- to some. Once a vampire’s venom gets inside a human’s body, they have 48 hours before the infection sets in. They start getting hungry for blood and prett-ay soon blood thirst gets started in full throttle, which lasts for 80 days. Once an infected person drinks human blood, they die and come alive as the undead, or vampire. Kind of like the vampires from Vampire diaries and they also burn in sunlight. However, there is no on/off switch for humanity. Once you turn into a vampire, it is permanently turned off. Also no magic or witches elements. It is hard to imagine but very realistic. Like I agree, this is probably exactly what would happen if the vampirism spiraled out of control.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑